top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosangela Atte

Spaghetti Alla Nerano

Updated: Dec 30, 2022

I actually spent many summers in Nerano as a little girl and as a teen. My cousin and her husband had a beautiful villa there, and all you had to do to get to the stunning beach, was go down this neverending flight of stairs, just like almost every beach on the Amalfi Coast!

I have the most beautiful memories of those summers, like learning how to swim, buying beautiful handmade sandles with rhinestones, and of course eating Spaghetti Alla Nerano right on the beach, at the little restaurant on the Lido (beach). The Amalfi Coast is one of the most enchanting places on the planet! One of my absolute favorite places! I feel so blessed to have lived the first 23 years of my life, just a car ride away from such a dreamy place.

This plate of pasta is so much more than just a plate of pasta, it has the flavors of childhood memories, dreamy summers, tanned skin and salty lips.

Three ingredients, brought together by the starchy pasta water, create a light, creamy dish that will for sure become part of your repertoire!

I couldn't find il Provolone Del @monaco_dop anywhere! So I used a combination of aged Pecorino and caciocavallo.


INGREDIENTS FOR 6 PEOPLE

•500 gr spaghetti trafilati al bronzo

•900 gr thinly sliced zucchini

•250 gr shredded Provolone Del Monaco or half pecorino and half caciocavallo

•Sunflower oil for frying the zucchini

•1/2 cup EVOO

•Lots of fresh basil

•Salt

METHOD

1.Fry the zucchini in the sunflower oil until golden brown.

2.Drain on paper towel.

3.Heat EVOO in a large skillet, fry a smashed garlic clove until golden and take it out.

4.Cook pasta a few minutes away from al dente and reserve a couple of ladels (about 1 cup) of cooking liquid.

5.Add pasta to the oil along with the pasta water, most of the zucchini and a few basil leaves.

6.Once pasta starts becoming creamy, turn heat off and slowly start adding the cheese, stirring between every addition, making sure it emulsifies with the starchy pasta water and becomes creamy.

7.Once all cheese is incorporated, you are ready to plate!

8.Garnish with the remaining zucchini slices and basil leaves and you're done!

Buon Appetito Amici!

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Linguine Alle Vongole

This pasta dish transports me to my beloved Napoli, every time I make it. I remember my nonno Pasquale coming home on Sundays, with bags...

Comments


bottom of page